Welcome to BARS

The British Association for Romantic Studies (BARS) was set up in 1989 by academics to promote the study of the cultural history of the Romantic period. Since then, BARS has organised biennial International Conferences at various locations across the UK, has published the BARS Bulletin and Review twice-yearly, and currently has more than 400 members.

Page Navigation

Site Access Keys

BARS Bursaries and Funding

One of BARS' main objectives is to support postgraduates and early career scholars. Our Stephen Copley Postgraduate Research Awards provide funding for research trips to libraries and archives which would otherwise be out of reach. For details of how to apply and of past award winners, please scroll down.

BARS also commonly provides two other forms of support. The first are bursaries to assist postgraduates presenting at the International Conferences - these are advertised on the mailbase. The second are small subventions to assist with the costs of running conferences and other events on Romantic period topics. Members interested in applying for these should contact the Secretary, Helen Stark, for details. The full guidelines can be seen here.

Stephen Copley Research Awards


Postgraduates and early career scholars working in the area of Romanticism are invited to apply for a Stephen Copley Research Award. The BARS Executive Committee has established the bursaries in order to help fund expenses incurred through travel to libraries and archives, up to a maximum of £300. A postgraduate must be enrolled on a doctoral programme in the UK; an early career scholar is defined as someone who holds a PhD (from the UK) but has not held a permanent academic post for more than three years by the application deadline. Application for the awards is competitive, and cannot be made retrospectively.

Successful applicants must be members of BARS before taking up the award. The names of recipients will be announced on the BARS website and social media, and successful applicants will be asked to submit a short report to the BARS Executive Committee within four weeks of the completion of the research trip and to acknowledge BARS in their doctoral thesis and/or any publication. Previous winners or applicants are encouraged to apply again.

Please send the following information in support of your application (up to two pages of A4 maximum in word.doc format):

  1. Your full name and institutional affiliation (if any).
  2. The working title and a short abstract or summary of your PhD or current project.
  3. Brief description of the research to be undertaken for which you need support.
  4. Estimated costing of proposed research trip.
  5. Estimated travel dates.
  6. Details of current or recent funding (AHRC award, &c), if applicable.
  7. Name of one supervisor/referee (with email address) to whom application can be made for a supporting reference on your behalf.
  8. Name and contact details (including email address and Twitter handle) of whomever updates your departmental website or social media, if known. And your Twitter handle, if applicable.

Applications and queries should be directed to the bursaries officer, Dr Daniel Cook (d.p.cook@dundee.ac.uk) at the University of Dundee. The deadline for applications is February 1st in any given year.

To become a member of BARS, see How to Join.

Reports from previous recipients of the Copley bursaries are below.

Announcement of 2015 Award Winners

As per this blog post, the recipients of research awards in 2015 are as follows:

  • Rees Arnott-Davies (Birkbeck)
  • Amy Boyington (Cambridge)
  • Catherine Gadsby-Mace (Sheffield)
  • Grace Harvey (Lincoln)
  • Anna Mercer (York)
  • Jonathan Quayle (Newcastle)

Announcement of 2014 Award Winners

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2014 round of Stephen Copley Postgraduate Research Awards:

  • Judyta Frodyma (University of Oxford)
  • Sarah Louise Lovell (Durham University)
  • Ilaria Mallozzi (Royal Holloway, University of London)
  • Alexis Wolf (Birkbeck, University of London)
  • Sarah Wride (University of York)
  • Emma Curran (University of Surrey)

Once they have completed their research trips, each winner will write a short report on their projects, which will be posted on the blog and added to the archive from previous years.

Daniel Cook, Bursaries Officer

Reports from Award Winners: 2013

Stephanie Dumke (University of Durham)
Lucy Kellett (University of Oxford)
Christine Mangan (University College Dublin)
Robin Mills (University of Cambridge)
Alys Mostyn (University of Leeds)
Bethan Roberts (University of Liverpool)

Reports from Award Winners: 2012

Will Bowers (University College London)
Joanne Burns (Queen's University Belfast)
Lucy Hodgetts (University of York)
Sophie Rudland (University of Warwick)
Jo Taylor (Keele University)
Vivien Williams (University of Glasgow)

Reports from Award Winners: 2011

Melanie Buntin (University of Glasgow)
Jeongsuk Kim (University of Sussex)
Andrew Lacey
Andrew McInnes
Katherine Scarth (University of Warwick)
Adam White

Reports from Award Winners: 2010

Desmond Bo-Yuan Huang (University of Warwick)
Christina Davidson (University of Southampton)
Chrisy Dennis (University College Falmouth)
Brian Haman (University of Warwick)
Terence H. W. Shih (Durham University)
Helen Stark (Newcastle University)
Leanne Stokoe (Newcastle University)
Susan Valladares (Oxford University)