Call for Proposals – Chawton House

      No Comments on Call for Proposals – Chawton House

By Emily Paterson-Morgan

The Chawton House Series republishes rare novels, travel writing and memoirs by women from the long eighteenth century. Since 2006 the series has consisted of newly-edited volumes from Chawton House Library’s collection in three main strands: Novels; Travel Writings; and Memoirs. Now in its second decade, the series includes novels ranging from the early works of Eliza Haywood to Mary Brunton and Helen Maria Williams, as well as translations and continuations of European fiction, and significant anonymous and pseudonymous works. Recent volumes include Elizabeth Hays Lanfear’s Fatal Errors (1819) and forthcoming volumes include Sarah Fielding’s The History of the Countess of Dellwyn (1759).

Routledge is proud to be relaunching this major venture to make available new scholarly editions of early texts by women. A significant feature of the relaunch is to open up the series to texts from the period 1660-1830 not restricted to the Chawton House Library collection.

The novels are reset editions of rare and important texts by women authors, complete with extensive introductory matter and endnotes.

• All texts are printed in full

• Most of the texts included have never been republished

• Each edition includes a substantial introduction, endnotes and an index

A full list of previous titles is on the …read more